PHYSIOGRAPHY 19

Standard Time, which was adopted at a World Conference held at Washington, DC, in 1884, sets the number of time zones in the world at 24, each zone ideally extending over one twenty-fourth of the surface of the earth and including all the territory between two meridians 15° of longitude apart. In practice, the zone boundaries are quite irregular for geographic and political reasons. Universal Time (UT) is the time of the zone centred on the zero meridian through Greenwich. Each of the other time zones is a definite number of hours ahead of or behind UT to a total of 12 hours, at which limit the international date-line runs roughly north-south through the mid-Pacific.

Canada has seven time zones, the most easterly being Newfoundland Standard Time, three hours and 30 minutes behind UT, and the most westerly Yukon (west) Standard Time, nine hours behind UT. In between, from east to west, the remaining zones are called Atlantic, Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific and Yukon (east). Yukon (east) and Pacific Standard in effect constitute a single zone.

Legal authority for the time zones. Time in Canada has been considered a matter of provincial rather than federal jurisdiction. Each of the provinces and the Northwest Territories has enacted laws governing the standard time to be used within its boundaries. These laws determine the location of the time zone boundaries. Lines of communication, however, have sometimes caused communities near the boundary of a time zone to adopt the time of the adjacent zone, and in most cases these changes are acknowledged by amendments to provincial legislation. During the two World Wars, there were federal enactments concerning time but these were of temporary duration. In 1941 the time determined at the Dominion Observatory was designated as official time for Dominion official purposes. On April 1, 1970, this responsibility was transferred to the National Research Council.

Daylight saving time. Although Daylight Saving Time had been urged in many quarters before World War I, its first use in Canada came as a federal war measure in 1918. Today most of the provinces have legislation controlling the provincial or municipal adoption (or rejection) of Daylight Saving Time; in the other provinces the authority is left to the municipalities. By general agreement, Daylight Saving, where it is observed, is in force for six months from the last Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

1.4 Public land

The total area of Canada and the areas of the individual provinces and territories are classified by tenure in Table 1.8. All lands, with the exception of those privately owned or in process of alienation, are Crown lands under the jurisdiction of either the federal or the provincial governments.

Federal public land. Public lands under the administration of the federal government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay, lands in Yukon Territory, ordnance and admiralty lands, national parks and national historic parks and sites, forest experiment stations, experimental farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the federal government for various purposes connected with federal administration. These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1970, c.T-6) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1970, c.P-29).

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory where only 93 sq miles of a total area of 1,511,979 sq miles are privately owned and 1,058 sq miles are under the administration of the territorial governments.

Provincial and territorial public land. Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway belt and Peace River block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In 1930, the federal government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in Newfoundland, except those administered by the federal government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on March 31, 1949. All land in Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 133 sq miles under federal or provincial administration.

The transfer by the federal government of significant areas of land within and immediately surrounding established communities in the Northwest Territories and the